Emo Scene Community

1000's of emo guys & girls!

Search soEmo

Top Emo Bands View All

Emo Lyrics View All

It goes to show, I hope that you know that you are.. (What my dreams are made of) Can't fall asleep, can't fall asleep... I lay in my bed awake, in my bed awake at night.. (As I dream of you) If I'm James Dean, You're Audrey Hepburn, by Sleeping With Sirens

Emo Forums » Help And Advice (Reply)

Emo Pictures - Kate
Kate
Advice,help and tips on how to STOP self harm/ injury Mar 03 2014, 01:10 PM
I am by No means a professional in this but i am writing from my own personal experience with Self harm and my long battle with it. I thought some of this maybe useful for those struggling with Self Harm or Self Injury and maybe for the people who want to help/support someone going through it. For those struggling with it and from personal experience, I found knowing what triggers you and how to deal with urges along with finding that someone or something you trust enough to turn to for help/support are the most important things in the journey to recovery. I'm NOT going to say recovery is easy because it isn't, but i will say, it is worth every step of the journey to achieve it. Harming your self achieves nothing but pain and darkness. it will not solve the problems although it may seem help you in the short term, it will do the opposite in the long run. ^ Those of you who have recovered/are almost recovered will know what i mean by the statement above. Triggers: Not everyone has a set trigger for self harm, but there is always either emotions or a trail of events leading upto the action that builds up over time that can result in the harm occurring. To find my triggers, i wrote down in a obvious place (to me) what i found commonly happened before a urge to cut/harm and then slowly learned when urges were about to occur and was able to try and prevent one happening. urges/temptations I personally found Distracting myself was the best technique, as my mind couldn't focu